top of page
Search
  • mwanamuke moja

25.04.2020 | kitchen tails : una sombe

“Ukona sombe” - Da Bibiene*

You have cassava / do you have cassava?

It made me recall the day when Beauf spoke out loud to no one in particular, how he wondered how those people who say they only eat Congolese food, he wondered how they were faring.


"those people, who say they only eat Congolese food, I wonder how they're doing " - Beauf

Something about how he said it made me feel as though when he said "those people" he actually meant, "those men".


We woudn’t be those people. “Ukona sombe” Da Bibiene said as she was on the phone, the lady who she buys Cassava from.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

20.05.2020 | kitchen tails : buji ya Congo

Home Alone : Another degilling, scaling, de-tailing, fins, guts and such day 10:20 – 10:56 I made two servings for breakfast, the boy was not home, he left with Da Bibiene, his mother, to search for a

18.05.2020 | kitchen tails : dishing up **

Dishing UP ** : I've lost count. The rice newly brought from outside. There weren’t enough tomatoes, so I had to use the frozen one’s from the frige, I remember 15:22, is this the time I finished ? di

16.05.2020 | kitchen tails : matembele

Matembele Sweet potato leaves She went to the nearest Congolese food stockist and returned with four bundles of matembele, each for R10. Whilst I prepared the substitute legume(vegetable), spinach, sh

bottom of page