top of page
Search
  • mwanamuke moja

29.04.2020 | kitchen tails : dishing up 02

Dishing Up 02: "Tu va prepare pour tulmonde?"

"You will prepare for everyone..."


I’m only supposing it was a question, in the way the statement lingered in the compact and unoccupied kitchen air. "You will prepare for everyone”, when you translate it to English it sounds less like a question, that’s probably because beneath the lingering of the words, both of us, him man of this house and me woman, niece to his fiancé, know that there’s an implication with my presence as a woman here.


I prepared food for us all, reluctant to do so, I burnt one of the dishes, scrambled another, left another unspiced and unsalted, having only one succeed through my chopping, spicing and frying.


Dishing up : one good dish, another decent, the third passable, one barely edible, one boy, one man and two women. Precedent has taught me to give serve first the male.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

20.05.2020 | kitchen tails : buji ya Congo

Home Alone : Another degilling, scaling, de-tailing, fins, guts and such day 10:20 – 10:56 I made two servings for breakfast, the boy was not home, he left with Da Bibiene, his mother, to search for a

18.05.2020 | kitchen tails : dishing up **

Dishing UP ** : I've lost count. The rice newly brought from outside. There weren’t enough tomatoes, so I had to use the frozen one’s from the frige, I remember 15:22, is this the time I finished ? di

16.05.2020 | kitchen tails : matembele

Matembele Sweet potato leaves She went to the nearest Congolese food stockist and returned with four bundles of matembele, each for R10. Whilst I prepared the substitute legume(vegetable), spinach, sh

bottom of page